13 Feb 2020

Tom Walsh and Dame Valerie Adams feature in the shot put at the Porritt Classic Meeting

Author: Page Admin  /  Categories: News  / 

Tom Walsh will have his second shot put competition this season at the annual Porritt Classic Meeting in Hamilton on Saturday. The 2017 world champion opened at the Potts Classic with a 21.10m throw, his first outing since taking bronze at the world championships in Doha in October, with a personal best 22.90m. With competition from former Waikato athlete Ryan Ballantyne, Jan Jeuschede of Germany and Nick Palmer, Walsh will be out to better his meeting record of 21.87m set in 2018. Ballantyne is knocking on the door of throwing over 20 metres having improved to 19.37m in Melbourne last week. Jordan Young of Canada will also be competing.

Dame Valerie Adams likewise steps up to the circle having opened her season with a Tokyo Olympic qualifying throw of 18.65m at the Potts Classic. Adams who has a best of 21.24m, and holds the meeting record of 20.25m set in 2010. Brittany Crew of Canada, bronze medallist behind Adams who won silver at the 2018 Gold Coast Commonwealth Games will be competing along with world junior champion Maddison-Lee Wesche, World University Games gold medallist Sarah Mitton and Trinity Tutti both Canada and Torie Owers. The shot puts are permit D events.

Nick Willis will be competing in the permit D 1500m. Willis back from the indoor circuit in the States will have his eye on Hayden McLaren’s meeting record of 3:42.00 set in 2011. The field also has former national champion Eric Speakman who won his title in Hamilton in 2017, Jacob Priddey, Matthew Taylor, Cameron Graves, Tim Cornish and five runners from Japan and Isaac Hockey of Australia who has a best of 3:38.49.

Angie Petty and Katherine Camp who raced over 800m at the Perth Track Classic earlier this month, Petty finishing second in 2:05.83 and Camp fourth in 2:06.69 step up in distance and will clash along with Rebekah Greene over 1500m which is also permit D. Camp was third in Melbourne last week in 4:20.75, Greene fourth in 4:22.09 and Petty ran 4:24.07 in a mixed race in Christchurch in November. The meeting record is held by Suzy Walsham who ran 4:13.16 in 2004.

Edward Osei-Nketia who won the sprint double last year in 10.83 over 100m and 21.83 in the 200m, returns and his line up in the 100m includes James Guthrie-Croft, Jacob Stockwell, Cody Wilson, Tiaan Whelpton and Zac Topping.

These sprinters, apart from Stockwell, will also compete in the permit D 200m along with Dominic Overend and Tommy Te Puni. Chris Donaldson holds the meeting 100m record of 10.27 and Frankie Fredericks the 200m record of 20.20.

Zoe Hobbs, Rosie Elliott, Natasha Eady, Georgia Hulls and Livvy Wilson are down for the women’s permit D 100m.

Heading the Para Athlete 100m are Mitch Joynt and Anna Steven.

Julia Ratcliffe showed good form in Tauranga last week with a throw of 70.76m with the hammer will be looking for another top throw as she closes in on a Tokyo Olympic qualifying performance of 72.50m. Nicole Bradley and Lauren Bruce who have both set personal bests this season are also entered. Also competing in the permit D event will be Alexandra Hulley of Australia who was second behind Ratcliffe at the 2018 Gold Coast Commonwealth Games.

Michael Cochrane who holds the 400m hurdles meeting record of 50.12, set nine years ago, will race national champion Olivia Miller, Daniel Parkes, Christopher Douglas of Australia and Justin Menezes in the permit D 400m hurdles. Fiona Morrison and Hinewai Knowles are in the 100m hurdles while Joshua Hawkins, James Sandilands, Australian Nicholas Hough third at the Commonwealth Games and Japan’s Shuhei Ishikawa who has a best of 13.49 will clash in the permit D 110m hurdles. 

The leading three in the country in the discus throw, Connor Bell, Marshall Hall and Alexander Parkinson should provide another interesting contest. Young of Canada who has thrown over 60 metres will be competing in the permit D event. Te Rina Keenan and Bruce will compete in the women’s discus.

Ben Langton Burnell will enjoy competing at the Porritt ground in the javelin throw which invariably produces a lengthy throw for him. His best is 82.44m in Hamilton in June 2017. Six Australians have entered in the permit D javelin as well as Takuto Kominami of Japan who has a best throw of 81.73m.

In the high jump Josh Inger and Jayden Williams will compete and Keeley O’Hagan, Josephine Reeves and Josie Taylor in the women’s high jump. Matthew Wyatt and Briana Stephenson are in the long jump and Kayla Goodwin in the permit D triple jump.

Michael Dawson, James Harding, Mikael Starzynski and Liam Back should produce an exciting finish to the permit D 800m and Tayla Brunger, Maia Broughton, Jennifer Hauke and Sophie Atkinson will compete in the permit D 400m.

A feature of the annual meeting are the secondary schools 1500m races, the Dick Quax boys and the Dianne Rodger girls race. 

Murray McKinnon
Athletics New Zealand Correspondent
0274 806086


Number of views (342)      Comments (0)


Search News

News Archive

Copyright 2020 by Athletics New Zealand