21 Apr 2017

Oceania Area and Combined Events Championships team announced

Oceania Area and Combined Events Championships team announced

Author: Comms Admin  /  Categories: News, High Performance, Featured, High Performance News  / 
Above: Ben Langton Burnell in action at the recent Australian Championships.

Big Team selected for Oceania Champs

A New Zealand team of 55 athletes has been selected for the Oceania Area and Combined Events Championships in Fiji on 28 June - 1 July.

Featuring in the team are five current NZ senior champions. Ben Langton Burnell (javelin) Max Attwell (Decathlon), Anna Thomson (triple jump), Maddison-Lee Wesche (shot put) and Ariana Blackwood (heptathlon) have all been selected in their specialist events.

Also selected are four Rio Paralympics medallists Anna Grimaldi, Holly Robinson, William Stedman and Jessica Hamill.

The championships will be held in the Fijian capital, Suva at the ANZ Stadium and will be contested in senior, Under 20 and Under 18 grades. 

Australia has also named a big team for the championships and along with New Zealand should dominate the medals table ahead of 20 other national federations. 

Athletics New Zealand's involvement is not limited to athletes at the championships. Sixteen New Zealand officials have been appointed to officiate in Suva.

 Men  Women
 Andrew Allan  Leah Belfield
 Max Attwell  Ashleigh Bennett
 Sam Diggelmann  Ariana Blackwood
 Tom Gill  Caitlin Dore
 Christopher Goodwin  Tegan Duffy
 Gerard Hickey  Tamara Gotty
 Nathan Hill  Anna Grimaldi
 Cody House  Jess Hamill
 Samuel King  Anna Hayward
 Ben Langton Burnell  Lauren Henry
 Felix McDonald  Jessica Hood
 Conor McGiven  Georgia Hulls
 Cameron Miller  Tessa Hunt
 Caleb Moore  Deigna Khamal
 Samuel Moulson  Cara Lonergan
 Jacob Phillips  Atipa Mabonga
 Keegan Pitcher  Andrea McDowell
 Ethan Rangi  Hannah Miller
 Cam Robinson  Charli Miller
 Anton Schroder  Lisa Putt
 Mitchell Small  Holly Robinson
 Tom Smith  Summer Rutherford
 William Stedman  Emma Ryan
 Daniel Trenberth  Ashleigh Sando
 Liam Turner  Ellen Schaef
 Matt Walsh  Anna Thomson
 Alex Wood  Tessa Webb
   Maddison-Lee Wesche

Contact for selection information:
Alec McNab
021 421 145



Number of views (9696)      Comments (0)


Search News

News Archive

Copyright 2020 by Athletics New Zealand