11 Aug 2015

NZL World Championships Team finalised

NZL World Championships Team finalised

Author: Comms Admin  /  Categories: News  / 
Above: Tom Walsh pictured gaining bronze at the 2014 World Indoor Champs will be at his first outdoor version of the World Championships.

Athletics New Zealand has confirmed the New Zealand team to compete at the IAAF World Championships in the Chinese city of Beijing starting on 22 August.

Likely to grow as invitations are extended to additional athletes via the newly introduced IAAF roll-down process, the team boasts four Commonwealth Games medallists Nick Willis, Tom Walsh, Stuart Farquhar, Nikki Hamblin and recently crowned World University Champion Angie Petty, as well as three athletes competing at a major international senior championship for the first time.

Missing will be reigning and four times world shot put champion Valerie Adams, who has withdrawn from the team as she is not yet back to full fitness following shoulder and elbow surgery.

The team is likely to grow in the coming days as the IAAF extends invitations via their new roll down process. The Athletics NZ selectors have approved three additional athletes, Julian Matthews (1500m) Te Rina Keenan (Discus) and Cameron French (400m hurdles), to be added to the team should they receive invitations from the IAAF in the next 24 hours.

The youngest member of the team is steeplechaser Rosa Flanagan at 19 years old. Excluding Liz Wilson who will be competing in an exhibition masters 400m race at the championships, Stuart Farquhar at 33 is the oldest in the team, competing at his fifth consecutive World Championships. Nick Willis at 32 has also competed at four previous world championships.

For more information on the IAAF World Championships, please go to
IAAF World Championships

For more information on the New Zealand team, please click here to visit the Athletics NZ World Championships

NZ team for IAAF 2015 World Championships
Beijing (CHN)
22-30 August 2015
1500m: Nick Willis
5000m: Nick Willis
400m hurdles: Michael Cochrane
Shot Put: Tomas Walsh, Jacko Gill
Javelin: Stuart Farquhar
20km walk: Quentin Rew
50km walk: Quentin Rew

800m: Angie Petty
1500m: Nikki Hamblin
5000m: Nikki Hamblin
3000m steeplechase: Rosa Flanagan
Discus throw: Siositina Hakeai
Heptathlon: Portia Bing
20km walk: Alana Barber
Masters 400m: Liz Wilson

Nominated subject to receiving IAAF Invitations
1500m: Julian Matthews
400m hurdles: Cameron French
Discus: Te Rina Keenan

Selection Notes:
  -  Valerie Adams (Shot Put), has withdrawn from the team for Beijing 2015 due to injury.
  -  Athletes invited to compete via the IAAF Roll-Down process will be announced as official selections upon receipt and confirmation of the invitation from the IAAF. 


Number of views (2780)      Comments (0)


Search News

Copyright 2019 by Athletics New Zealand