8 May 2017

Exciting team named for Commonwealth Youth Games in Bahamas

Exciting team named for Commonwealth Youth Games in Bahamas

Author: Comms Admin  /  Categories: News, High Performance, Featured, High Performance News  / 

Above: Shot Putter Nick Palmer is one of 11 athletes selected for the 2017 Commonwealth Youth Games athletics team. Photo by Alan McDonald / Macspeedfoto.

An exciting team of 11 athletes has been selected for the Commonwealth Youth Games in Nassau, Bahamas in July.

The team will feature a number of New Zealand's talented youngsters, including distance runners Hannah O'Connor and Katrina Robinson and throwers Connor Bell and Nick Palmer.

Hurdler / jumper Kayla Goodwin is the only athlete in the team with prior international experience, representing New Zealand last year at the Polynesian Under 18 Championships in Tahiti.

Distance athletes Nicholas Moulai and Isaiah Priddey are both named in the team after some great battles this season.

Throwers Tatiana Kaumoana and Mellata Tatola have also been named in their first NZ team, along with high jumper Imogen Skelton.

The team features three athletes from each of Auckland and Waikato and one athlete from each of Canterbury, Taranaki, Hawkes Bay, Wellington and one based in Australia.

Athletes aged 16 or 17 on 31 December 2017 were eligible for selection in the multi-sport team.

Tim Driesen (Team Leader) and Mike Ritchie (Coach) have been appointed to support the team.

Members of other sports will be named later this week.

Athletics team members:

 Connor Bell   Auckland  Discus 
 Kayla Goodwin  Hamilton  Long Jump, 100m H
 James Guthrie-Croft  Auckland  100m, 200m
 Tatiana Kaumoana  Te Aroha  Discus 
 Nicholas Moulai  Christchurch  1500m, 3000m
 Hannah O'Connor  Taranaki  1500m, 3000m
 Nick Palmer  Hawke's Bay  Shot 
 Isaiah Priddey  Hamilton  1500m, 3000m
 Katrina Robinson  Australia based  1500m, 3000m
 Imogen Skelton  Wellington  High Jump , 800m
 Mellata Tatola  Auckland  Shot, Discus


Number of views (13152)      Comments (0)


Search News

News Archive

Copyright 2020 by Athletics New Zealand