11 Apr 2015

Thorburn and Gibbs new Mountain Running champions

Thorburn and Gibbs new Mountain Running champions

Author: Comms Admin  /  Categories: News  / 

Above: Jack Beaumont won the junior men's title at the New Zealand Mountain Running championships in Nelson.

Dougal Thorburn and Sally Gibbs won their first national mountain running titles in Nelson on Saturday.

Gibbs took out the women’s 9.3km race in the Grampians hills on the outskirts of Nelson in 47:47, heading off Nelson’s Paula Canning who finished in 48:02 and Dulia Daly from Napier in 52:30.

Until this year, the mountain running title had eluded Gibbs, from Katikati in the Bay of Plenty, who has represented New Zealand at World Mountain Running championship events in the past, but this year the 51 year old was determined to take the title to go with her previous three national titles, 10,000m track in 2012 and the half marathon and full marathon double in 2014.

Thorburn emerged the champion in the men’s 13.93km championship race, stopping the clock at 59:42, almost 2 minutes ahead of newcomer Mike Banks from Auckland with a similar gap back to Stephen Day of Wellington.

Thorburn, a 34 year old Wellington doctor won the 2013 national marathon title, but this was his first title in mountain running.

The junior men’s 9.3km title was won by Jack Beaumont from Winton in 41:40 from Wellington’s Jake Tennent and Angus Wemyss from the local Athletics Nelson club.

Nelson took the trifecta in the junior women’s race with Hunta Sutherland taking the win in the 4.77km event in 25:14 from clubmates Samantha Jordan and Jessica Martin.

Steve Reese-Jones from Hamilton was fastest in the big masters field, winning the 9.3km race in 42:44, over three minutes ahead of the next competitor, while Jackie Mexted (Wellington) was the best of the masters women in 50:32.

Men 13.93km: 1 Dougal Thorburn (Wellington Scottish) 59:42, 2 Mike Banks (Auckland City) 61:23, 3 Stephen Day (Wellington Scottish) 63:10.
Women 9.3km: 1 Sally Gibbs (Tauranga Ramblers) 47:47, 2 Paula Canning (Nelson) 48:02, 3 Dulia Daly (Napier) 52:30.
Junior Men 9.3km: 1 Jack Beaumont (Winton) 41:40, 2 Jake Tennent (Wellington Harrier) 43:15, 3 Angus Wemyss (Nelson) 45:55.
Junior Women 4.77km: 1 Hunta Sutherland (Nelson) 25:14, 2 Samantha Jordan (Nelson) 25:29, 3 Jessica Martin (Nelson) 29:56.
Masters Men 9.3km: 1 Steve Rees-Jones (Hamilton City Hawks) 42:44, 2 Brian Kemp (Nelson) 46:19, 3 Michael Wray (Wellington Scottish) 46:24.
Masters women 9.3km: 1 Jackie Mexted (Wellington Scottish) 50:32, 2 Jeltsje Keizer (Wellington Scottish) 65:36.



Number of views (3054)      Comments (0)


Search News

Copyright 2019 by Athletics New Zealand