19 Apr 2017

2017 World Para Athletics Championships team announced

2017 World Para Athletics Championships team announced

Author: HP Admin  /  Categories: News, High Performance, Featured, High Performance News  / 

Above: Keegan Pitcher and William Stedman racing at the 2017 New Zealand Track & field Championships. Photo by Alisha Lovrich / Temposhot.

Following a very successful 2016 Rio Paralympics campaign where New Zealand won nine medals, three of which were gold, a team of six have been named to represented New Zealand at the Para Athletics World Championships in London.

While Rio star Liam Malone continues to recover from a leg injury and is not available for the championships, the team will be lead by Rio long jump gold medallist Anna Grimaldi from Otago, competing in the T45/46/47 combined classification.

Rio throws medallists Holly Robinson (F45/46 javelin), Rory McSweeney (F42/43/44 javelin) and Jessica Hamill (F34 shot put) will all contest their specialist events.

Surprise Rio star William Stedman (Canterbury) will race in the T36 400m and 800m events and will be joined by newcomer Keegan Pitcher (also T36) from Auckland who pushed Stedman at the New Zealand championships.

The championships will be held in London at the 2012 Olympic Stadium 14 - 23 July ahead of the IAAF World Championships.

 Keegan Pitcher  Auckland                T36 200m/400m/800m
 William Stedman  Canterbury  T36 400m/800m/Long Jump
 Anna Grimaldi  Otago  T45/46/47 100m/200m/Long Jump
 Jessica Hamill  Otago  F34 Shot Put
 Rory McSweeney  Canterbury              F42/43/44 Javelin
 Holly Robinson  Otago                      F45/46 Javelin


To view the Selection Policy, please click here.


Number of views (5725)      Comments (0)


Search News

Copyright 2020 by Athletics New Zealand